Starting two builds...lots of questions

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

SteveNeill Avatar
SteveNeill Steve Neill
Ventura, CA, USA   USA
1985 Nissan 300ZX "Z"
I'm in the process of inquiring parts for two builds. My good friend Chris and I are both going to build a kart at my studio in Ventura. This will be our first time to build these karts.

I have a lot of building experience of large scale movie models, radio control models and creatures. I'm a maker. I'm not saying this will be easy, I'm not but a challenge and a new learning curve.

I'm planning an Alfa Romeo. I have had many of my questions answered without bothering everyone here by reading the FAQ, building threads, videos and more. Lots of research.

But maybe not quite enough and as I go I will ask questions from the experts here.

Starting with:

1. For the front axles or spindles from Azusa, I know I need 3/4-16 but what length. They list three lengths. With the 17 inch wheels. The three lengths they list are:

3.75"
4.50"
6.00"

2. On the brakes Azusa list the disc brakes at:

6"
8"
10"

I'm hunting down locally the 1x3 inch steel and the 1 5/8" steel tiding for the front axle. I'm also getting a hydraulic pipe bender.

Welding I have covered. Next door a good friend has a custom car shop and he's offered to weld everything. Got lucky there.

3. What rear axle bearings from Azusa do you recommend. They had several.

That's it for starters and I do appreciate your help. I want to order as many parts as I can tomorrow.

BTW I haven't heard back from Vintage Karts, either by phone or email. I emailed them and called them but no luck. We are trying to find the Honda 90 wheels or something similar here but have had no luck so far anywhere in Ventura. Turns out the local farmers buy them up for field karts.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
Frazetti Avatar
Frazetti Silver Member Kurt Seedhouse