CKC

CycleKart Tech Forum

The Gore Kart P1.. first time.

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

joshgoreworks Joshua G
Mchenry, IL, USA   USA
So I find it unbelievable that I'm just getting into these wonderful machines now, way late in the game. I've built race cars, and even an open wheeler, but they all required long weekends for limited track time, or necessitated a bigger budget. Then one day I was browsing a 60's era road and track magazine where I see a review for a cyclekart, next thing you know I'm on this forum and making plans of my own.

So here they are, my first attempt at a design, i'm not even sure if it belongs here because I don't plan on using wood for anything but non structural bodywork, but the dimensions and features all seem to follow Stevenson rules? The frame consists of two primary rails which are large tubes possibly made of green fiberglass, steel, aluminum or even carbon fiber(not in the budget), attached to the rails are 3 steel subassemblies which will either be bonded or welded to the mating parts. My background is in composites and I want to use my kart as a lab to tinker with techniques learned elsewhere. The suspension design uses leaf springs front and rear with urethane bushings creating a third link for the axle.

I will update as the design is refined including some 3d renderings which are in process.

I appreciate any advice or insights, thanks for creating a cool community.

Josh

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Supporting Member <
carChips Avatar
carChips Victor Harnish
Kelowna, BC, Canada   CAN
1933 MG Magnette
1973 Triumph Spitfire 1500 "Chip"
1989 GMC Sierra 1500 "Bush Truck"
Welcome Josh, cool project. My only insight is, make it as low as possible for better handling.

Woodysrods Brian Woods
Westbank B.C., Canada   CAN
Hi Josh
Looks like you are in for some good cheap fun.
My CycleKart will only have wood on the steering wheel, as I am a Street Rod builder and steel is my material of choice.