CKC

CycleKart Tech Forum

My First Build

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

peejster Prasantha J
Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA   USA
As I mentioned in the new members introduction thread, I am new to all this - not only new to cyclekarts but also new to any kind of metal work. I am really looking forward to the building process; I've always wanted to learn how to weld so this is a great project to learn on.

I have an inspiration car in mind - 1932 Alfa Romeo P2 - but also think I may change my mind several times before I am ready to build the body so I am taking the approach of building a fairly generic rolling chassis. We'll see if my chassis ends up limiting my car choice once its all said and done.

Here is a drawing of my frame. I ran out of room to draw the motor mount plate on the rear cross member but other than that, this is it.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
Frame.jpg    14.2 KB
Frame.jpg

peejster Prasantha J
Not a bad day in the cyclekart workshop today. I got my frame drawn onto a piece of MDF and got all the frame components cut to size. It actually lines up when laid on the outline I drew on the MDF! Probably pretty pedestrian for most,but I thought it was really cool to be able to cut metal.

The first photo is a view from rear (bottom of the photo) to front (top of the photo). A little difficult to see the outline I drew so the second pic shows the front in a little better (and since the tip of the frame got cut out of the image I scanned in my first post). The last couple are the cut frame rails laid out on the outline.

Attachments:
IMG_20171125_111047.jpg    25.2 KB
IMG_20171125_111047.jpg

IMG_20171125_111100.jpg    21.2 KB
Sign In or Register to view this photo
IMG_20171125_163610.jpg    27.2 KB
IMG_20171125_163622.jpg    25.3 KB
Smoky Avatar
Smoky Silver Member Don Schmok
Salmon Arm, BC, Canada   CAN