CycleKart Tech Forum

Alternate frame material

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Alabama lead foot Avatar
Alabama lead foot Craig Ellis
Marbury, Alabama, USA   USA
Hi, everyone! I'm just starting out in this awesome hobby and am working toward building my first kart. I have a bucketful of questions and would like to address the first. I am a retired patternmaker with the bulk of my experience in composites (fiberglass) and would like to build my chassis using carbon fiber composite instead of steel tubing. Would this be acceptable for competition in club meets/ races or is steel a requirement? My intent is to build chassis, tub, and engine mounting pad as one piece for increased stiffness and lighter weight. Will this be to much of a departure from the more common method? I would like to put my 40 plus years of experience into building a state of the art chassis that has the appearance of a vintage piece with advantages of space age materials. All comments and suggestions will be most welcome. Thanks

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
gearguy Charles Schultz
Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA   USA
The original Stevenson cycle karts were plywood boxes with the 1 x 3 steel tubing bolted to the sides. I'm doing an aluminum sheet over plywood chassis for my "tank." As long as our overall weight is 250# or more why would a carbon fiber chassis be an issue?

Notso-Chinsee Avatar
Notso-Chinsee Gold Member Albert Lies
Spokane Valley, Washington (WA), USA   USA
1927 CycleKart American
1938 CycleKart American "Burd Piston Ring Special"
Craig,