CKC

Custom Karts Forum

Alternate power units but keeping in the CK spirit

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

bobzdar Peter Terrana
Mechanicsville, VA, USA   USA
I've been throwing around ideas for my cyclekart for a couple of years now and one thing has always bogged me down a bit - these cars are art-like in execution with most everything...except for the engine. There's good reason for that, I know, but I have always been attracted to less common and more 'exotic' engines in vehicles (like v4 motorcycles, flat plane 8's, v12's and v16's, BRM H-16 etc.), so I've been thinking about how to bring that to a cyclekart build without making deviating too far from the formula. What that's led me to is one of two paths: an electric drivetrain, which seems wrongly modern, or a multi cylindered unit made up of small single cylinder motors. This led me to the Honda GXH50 49cc 4 stroke 2hp engine. It's compact, light, industrial in nature and fairly cheap used and revs to 7500rpm (peak power at 7000rpm). I'm thinking of trying to put 4 of these together for around 7-8hp (after losses in connecting them), which would put it on-par with a normal gx200 in both displacement and power, but in a much more interesting and fun package. Attached is a (very) rough drawing - a chain driven main 'crank' that delivers the power with 4 sprockets to take input from each motor in either an inline or V(H?) format. You'd have to clock each motor properly for even firing, but that should be fairly simple and sound wicked at 7000rpm. H setup is a lot more compact but inline is much easier for exhaust and throttle linkage. Any thoughts? Good idea? Stupid complicated and expensive? Against the spirit?

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
CKengine.jpg    38.5 KB
CKengine.jpg

LowellR Silver Member Lowell Roemke
Tempe, Arizona, USA   USA