Visit our Twitter feed for more great content
CKC

CycleKart Tech Forum

1920 Spacke Cyckekart Build

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Joenot John Westacott
Idaho Falls, ID, USA   USA
I’m new to the cyclekart forum – only other post was in the member introduction section. I have been studying (and searching) the posts in the tech forum and working on a cyclekart chassis – wanted to test drive it and get some of the bugs out before snow flies and temperature drops. I’ve uploaded a picture of my chassis. Note, the seat back and steering support will change when I start working on the body.

I am having a couple of issues.

First, I have the Comet TAV2-30 torque converter – it is mounted at a 7-8 o’clock position (engine in front of the rear axle). I can’t seem to get a neutral with the torque converter. When I rock the kart back and forth (or pull the starter), the belt does not slip in the pulley. I pretty sure I have it assembled correctly (per instructions and a couple of videos I found). The assembly order is steel bushing, stationary sheave, bronze bushing, belt, movable sheave, hub driver, weight assembly, and drum drive. The pulleys seem to line up correctly, but there does not seem to be enough gap for the belt to drop down on to the bronze bushing. I temporarily placed an o-ring as a spacer on the crankshaft between the stationary sheave and hub driver. This gives enough spacing for neutral to work. I could fabricate a metal spacer, but was wondering if anyone has seen this problem?

My son and I started it on a jackstand and took it for a ride without neutral – what fun – may have hooked him into building one (note: son is 28 years old).