CKC

CycleKart Tech Forum

One Wheel To Rule Them All?

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Chamberlin Tony Chamberlin
Seattle, WA, USA   USA
Hi everyone I'm new here so let me first introduce myself. I have always loved tinkering. Not a big "Car Guy" which is one reason im keen on cycle karts. A designer by trade I love making things and defiantly wan't to build. I've been day dreaming for years but looks like there may be an opportunity to do more that just day dream soon ( my kids aren't babies anymore smiling smiley. Hope to to make it to Tieton this year (as a spectator) and see where that takes me.

With that said I've been absorbing as much as i can on build techniques and "specs" for the cars and one thing that would like to do on my future car wouild be to run the same wheel front or back. There are a lot of good reasons to do this I think but being that I'm new here im sure that someone else has looking into this. I generaly i try to keep it simple which this is not necessarily what i have here but the benefits might out weigh the added complexity. Below are some images of what im thinking. essentially you use the same drive method as the Honda trail bike. This could be with a custom setup like i have below or modifying the Honda sprocket side hub ( i don't have one to look at so didn't CAD it up.). For the front this would bolt up to a typical Azusa spindle setup that's already being used.

Would love to hear your thoughts etc.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 2016-05-03 11:58 PM by Chamberlin.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
2016-05-03_13-04-17.jpg    33.9 KB
2016-05-03_13-04-17.jpg

2016-05-03_13-05-18.jpg    30.7 KB
Sign In or Register to view this photo
wheel assembly v01.PDF    1.54 MB
fly44 Avatar
fly44 Don Nothwang/c
Hillsboro, OR, USA   USA
1921 CycleKart German "Chitty"