CKC

Custom Karts Forum

Pedal Car

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

Carty McCartFace Robert J
Fresno, CA, USA   USA
Well.

Not a ton to report, really, as the car is still languishing, but version 3 is finally working out, and on the way to completion, finally. smiling smiley

So, I suppose some exposition is in order.

We saw a picture in an old book of a bicycle drivetrain powered car, and as I’m a bicycle mechanic, I thought to build one with the Youngest Son.
At about the same time, I discovered I really like old cars (not a car guy), and especially the old, external chain drive Edwardian era types.
Do you see where this is going?

After going through a few rotary pedal ideas, I found the Constant Torque Treadle, which was traditionally cords driving sheaves on one way bearings mounted on a common shaft. The set up allows linear (ish) moti9n to be translated into rotary motion.

I imagined using modern bicycle components to make a CTT device, and tried it out. Two freewheeling gears mounted on a common shaft can operate as a CTT.

The problem is, the vehicle cannot roll backward, which is fine when driving, especially on hills, but not so much when you need to move it around.

I came up with two solutions, and I’m still not sure which will make the final cut. Solution one is a dog type clutch, similar to those in a GN chain tranny. The gear is in, or out, and it has a very robust engagement dog.
The second solution is to install a “coaster” brake hub as an idler, because a coaster brake hub can roll backward without engaging the drive, unlike a freewheel.

As it sits, the CTT shaft drives an idler shaft with gears and chain, and the idler shaft drives the external drive gears, which drive the rear wheels via chains.
There is the option to add a geared hud into the “transmission” to allow multiple speeds.

I think internally geared hubs are too weak for the load a “car” will impose.